Fresno County Educator of the Year

The Educator of the Year awards program began in 1991 as a partnership between the Fresno County Office of Education (FCOE) and EECU. A sculpture entitled "The Three R's" was created by the late artist Clement Renzi. This sculpture, commissioned by EECU, serves as a focal point for the awards program and symbolizes the importance of education. Each year this program proudly recognizes the outstanding achievements and commitments of Fresno County teachers, school administrators, and school employees. These individuals represent the high standards, hard work, and dedication ever present throughout the field of education.

EECU also commissioned a smaller Renzi sculpture which is given to each year's award winners. All other nominees receive a framed, numbered, limited-edition art print of the original sculpture. The winners are selected from among all classified employees, administrators, and teachers in the thirty-four districts in Fresno County. Each year, awards are presented at a formal evening ceremony, funded by EECU, at William Saroyan Theater. This program celebrates the educators' achievements and successes, and shares their vision with the entire education community.

2018 Fresno County Educator of the Year Program

2018 Award Winners

Employee of the Year

Marco Franco

Marco Franco
Technology Specialist
Kerman-Floyd Elementary
Kerman Unified


Administrator of the Year

Valerie Vuicich

Valerie Vuicich
Administrator, Career Technical Education/ROP Fresno
Fresno County Superintendent of Schools


Teacher of the Year

Carmen Garvis

Carmen Garvis
Engineering Teacher
Sanger High School
Sanger Unified